This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

Luciano Chessa in concert | SETTE



Luciano Chessa in concert | SETTE

Not to miss this unique concert by Luciano Chessa, composer, conductor, audiovisual and performance artist, and pianist, born in Sassari, Italy in 1971.

He is the author of Luigi Russolo Futurist. Noise, Visual Arts, and the Occult (2012), the first monograph dedicated to Russolo and his “Art of Noise.”


1. Luciano Chessa: 'TomBoy' Suite (2009/10) for piano
2. Divagazioni Medianiche, from a cycle of poems by Carlo Carrà (2015)
3. Inkless Imagination III, for Fedele Azari (2007) for piano
4. Cupric Donna I & II (2016) for piano
5. Bombardamento di Adrianopoli, from a poem by Filippo Tommaso Marinetti (2014) for voice
6. Luciano Chessa: Le miniere (2003) from "Quadri da una città fantasma" for piano
7. Luciano Chessa: Gin e Ginepri, from a poem by Giosuè Carducci (1997) for voice, piano, and electronics

Luciano Chessa's concert is organised in collaboration with the University of Melbourne - Law School and Liquid Architecture and his visit to Australia includes a presentation in a workshop, in relation to his specialty in Italian Futurism, and an organ recital at the Melbourne Town Hall on Monday 28th May.

'Speeches Punctuated with Resounding Slaps’. Law, Expansion, Hierarchy (24-26 May 2018), the second of two workshops presented by the ‘Fascism and the International’ Project, in collaboration with Liquid Architecture, brings together a group of radical scholars, artists and activists working across the fields of law, history, history of art, sociology, anthropology, sound studies, critical theory and beyond.

About Luciano Chessa:

Luciano Chessa is a composer, conductor, audiovisual and performance artist, and pianist. His compositions include the opera Cena oltranzista nel castelletto al lago—a work merging experimental theater with reality TV which required from the cast over 55 hours of fasting—and A Heavenly Act, an opera commissioned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, with original video by Kalup Linzy. Chessa has been commissioned multiple times by the Performa Biennial, and in 2014 he presented three events at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum as part of the exhibition Italian Futurism, 1909-1944: Reconstructing the Universe. Chessa’s work appeared more than once in Artforum, Flash Art, Art in America, and Frieze; and has been featured in the Italian issue of Marie Claire and in the September Issue of Vogue Italia. He has been interviewed twice by the British BBC, and has been the subject of two short documentaries: one produced by RAI World (2014), and the other by Vietnamese State TV VTV1 in the occasion of his first trip to Viet Nam (2015). Chessa is also a music historian specializing in 20th-century Italian and 21st-century American repertoire. He is the author of Luigi Russolo Futurist. Noise, Visual Arts, and the Occult (2012), the first monograph dedicated to Russolo and his “Art of Noise.” In 2009, his Orchestra of Futurist Noise Intoners (OFNI) was hailed by the New York Times as one of the best events in the arts; it continues to tour internationally. Currently an Artist in Residence at the Steel House in Rockland, ME, here he developed the show on view while also preparing the edition of Julius Eastman's Second Symphony, the world premier of which he will conduct in NYC in September 2018.

"The boundaries around which Luciano Chessa is moving are partly those we draw between child and adult, innocence and experience, toy and tool—as well as those between music and theatre, art and play. Each variation uses a different oggetto di scena (prop), with musical as well as dramatic consequences, affecting both sound and feeling. In a context of absurdity, tenderness squeezes itself out.” - Paul Griffiths, 2011


Date: Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Time: From 6:30 pm To 8:00 pm

Organized by : IIC Melbourne

In collaboration with : Melbourne University and Liquid Architecture

Entrance : Free



IIC Melbourne